Maybe some people recover.

Maybe some people recover.  Completely.  No more ED.

I find it nearly impossible to believe that one day

I will wake-up and ED will be gone.  A forgotten memory.

So until that day, I’m going to use my

Rules for Living with ED:

  1.  Feelings check.  “How am I feeling?”  Feelings are not facts, but they are indicators from your subconscious.  “Why?  Hungry? Angry? Lonely? Tired? Stressed?”
  2.  Breathing check.  “If I’m stressed I need to be aware of my breathing.”  “I can talk other people off of a ledge, I can do that for myself as well.”
  3.  “Whose voice is speaking through my thoughts?”  “I drive my mental bus.  I can disagree and disobey with the passengers onboard.”
  4.  Eat by the clock unless feeling confident enough for intuitive eating but use “Wisemind.”
  5.  “Practice makes permanent”… and not perfection.  “Why do I have to be perfect?”  “One day at a time.”  “One meal at a time.”  “It’s just one meal.”  There will be other meals.  If I eat a big breakfast, maybe a smaller lunch and dinner.  If I have a cheeseburger, maybe later will be salad, fruit and yogurt, etc.
  6.  “What other people think of me is none of my business.”  “Haters are gonna hate.”
  7.  Persistence.  “I can ‘urge-surf’ my way through the discomfort.”  “What doesn’t kill me, makes me stronger.”
  8.  Call, email, or at least, text a friend.  “It’s important to reach-out and let other people know you care.”
  9.  Stop beating myself up.  “What’s done is done.”  “What can I learn from it?”
  10. “I can press the ‘Reset’ button, when I need to.”  The “Reset” button is my reminder to perform self-care.  If I purged, I should rinse my mouth with water and eat something nutritious to replace that which I lost.  “Why did I feel the need to purge?” See #1

 

http://www.instructables.com/id/Daily-Life-Skills/

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

